The Best Dishwashers for 2021 – Reviews, Ratings & Prices

You’re probably having a hard time finding a dishwasher. The best dishwasher, in many instances, is the one you can find. Many of the dishwasher manufacturers have supply chain issues from sourcing essential components to COVID-19 in their factories and warehouses.

In this video, you will learn the best dishwashers at different prices. So, you will see dishwashers between $499 and $2,999. You will also learn how to buy a dishwasher from quietness to washing, drying, racking, and most importantly, what you can buy now. We will also show reliability for each brand based on real service calls logged by our service department last year.

Some brands are more reliable than others, and repair is a huge problem in the appliance industry despite what you have been told. We logged over 37,000 service calls just last year…and that’s just in the Boston area with people who bought the appliance from us. So, the first part will be how to buy a dishwasher in these troubling times. The second part will be the top 10 for every budget.

We calculate appliance reliability by looking at the products sold compared to the products serviced by the brand for one year.

However, with a 10% repair rate, you most likely will need service within five years. You should be mindful of who fixes appliances in your area. Pick a few brands and ask your local servicer what they can fix quickly.

So which one should you buy?

It depends on what you are looking for and, unfortunately, what’s available. Miele is the best, but expensive. Their other G700 models are worth considering at $1,499 to $2,599 but aren’t available.

The least expensive Beko at $499 looks pretty looks with decent features, quietness and all stainless tubs.

The best selection is between $900-1199 as Bosch, KitchenAid, and Beko, have good products. Just make sure whatever you buy can be fixed.

Overall, this is a good list to start your shopping. You have multiple brands at different prices.

———

Interested in learning more?

Download our FREE Dishwasher Buying Guide with honest reviews of all the most popular brands and updates on new tech and trends. https://blog.yaleappliance.com/free-dishwasher-buying-guide

Learning Center:

Visit our Learning Center, home to all our most popular videos, articles, and buying guides about all things in the appliance world. https://blog.yaleappliance.com/resource-center

Yale Appliance:

Browse hundreds of in-stock products from the most popular appliance brands. https://www.yaleappliance.com/

If you liked this video, don’t forget to LIKE and SUBSCRIBE. Thanks for watching!

———

Chapters

0:00 Intro
1:22 Reliability Calculation
1:49 American vs. European Dishwashers
2:07 Quietness
2:39 Drying
3:20 Racking
3:42 Washing Systems
4:00 Most Available Dishwasher
4:26 Best Dishwasher Under $500
5:02 Quietest Dishwashers
6:57 Best Washing Action
7:35 Best Racking
8:36 Best Drying
9:03 Best Panel-Ready Dishwasher
9:35 Best Premium Dishwasher
10:33 Which Should You Buy?

45 Comments

  1. casey9551 on April 27, 2021 at 3:29 am

    But Bosch are made in the USA now not Europe anymore



  2. G4L on April 27, 2021 at 3:29 am

    Thanks for an informative video! This is certainly one area of technology that has changed considerably over the last 10-15 years so it’s hard to just be a "reliable" consumer because the big names have become less consistent. I would love to just stick to the same brand names but then industry has changed considerably. Without question, actually drying the dishes is a big deal for me. I could care less about the technical reasons why this is considered a "special" feature.



  3. bluedrum major on April 27, 2021 at 3:29 am

    TBH, I’d rather have a hard food grinder than filters that have to be washed out. I know, though, this means a much louder dishwasher. That’s fine with me.



  4. 4 everclearkills on April 27, 2021 at 3:29 am

    Were are the Samsung washing machine, they need to be in this list



  5. up too late on April 27, 2021 at 3:29 am

    I was able to buy american made parts, locally for my 15 y.o. kitchen aide refrigerator, made by whirlpool. You might go into the reason why some of these brands are unavailable. Because parts are made in China. Avoid Korean appliances and g.e. because they make the parts in China. Buy the whirlpool umbrella of brands.



  6. John Elliott on April 27, 2021 at 3:31 am

    Does it have a filter or disposal grinder, does it, clean in less than 3 hours.



  7. Jay Watson on April 27, 2021 at 3:33 am

    Why have you not reviewed Cove dishwasher



  8. James Rose on April 27, 2021 at 3:34 am

    We have the KitchenAid and one unexpected downside was that the door is much closer to the floor than other dishwashers we have owed. It’s a little further to bend down to load and unload. Also, the open door lines up perfectly with my ankles which has resulted in a few painful interactions.



  9. Edward Luth on April 27, 2021 at 3:38 am

    Sounds like Kitchen aid is the best or definitely worth looking at.



  10. Debbie C on April 27, 2021 at 3:44 am

    *I love my Kitchen Aid Dishwasher ( 3 levels ), it’s very quiet and it’s 44 Decibels and the rest of the appliance is Kitchen Aid*
    *My Dream Appliances are called Viking Appliances, ( maybe one day )* *First time paying more for Appliances, no regret*



  11. Doug JB on April 27, 2021 at 3:44 am

    In fall of 2018 the dishwasher in the house we’d moved into three weeks earlier stopped working. We replaced with a GE gdt695ssj4ss. We’re pleased with it but it seems like it’s gotten a little louder over the years. Is this possible?

    Apart from cleaning the filters regularly—and much more frequently since we cook every meal at home—do you have recommendations for keeping them in peak operating condition?

    Also: I was today-years old when I discovered that the middle rack can be lowered.

    🤦‍♂️



  12. Fat bike Montage on April 27, 2021 at 3:45 am

    Be careful with the auto opening dry function. If you have a worktop that overhangs you can get problems if you have a wooden worksurface, and you need to dry the area around as it tends to collect condensation.



  13. Pavel Gajdik on April 27, 2021 at 3:45 am

    Thermador and Asko are pretty much not available in most European countries, KitchenAid is very rare to see with the exception of UK.
    Miele is rare because of being too expensive or lacking options/functions and still being much more expensive compared to other brands.
    Probably most common are Bosh/Siemens, AEG/Electrolux, Beko as cheap brand.

    Currently using higher model Siemens past 8 or so years and probably getting AEG as next.



  14. Sparklander on April 27, 2021 at 3:47 am

    We love our Kitchenaid dishwasher. It far out cleans the Bosch dishwasher we had previously. Fewer adjustments on the racks are better because the clips wear out and fall off.



  15. EEE on April 27, 2021 at 3:48 am

    Thermador has had a few recalls on their dishwashers. Also if you live in Chicago good luck finding someone to service any of your Thermador products. While Thermador will provide you with a list of repair centers near you, you will quickly discover the centers are no where near you and the ones that are, no longer service Chicago. Same goes for Bosch.



  16. Kell Bell Roses on April 27, 2021 at 3:48 am

    You are awesome with your posts… thank you so very much for all the info. ❣️



  17. Steve Braun on April 27, 2021 at 3:48 am

    in house i built, i put all ge Monogram, the dishwasher worked great and did not make much noise and that was 18 years ago, and it is the first dishwasher, i seen to have interior lights. sold the house and brought a house and did a full remodel. and did all thermador r , the dish washer was 44DB and led time counter that shined on the floor so you knew when it was done and interior lights where in blue, not the best but it always smelled. i complained up and down and i was told to do this and that and this again and i clean the filter and ran vinegar in it it stilled smelled. sold the house and building again, i am going with Bosch, benchmark. Shx89pw75n 38DB white lights on the inside the smelled problem has been fixed but no more countdown just a red light on the floor



  18. ImJustPlayin'WithYa on April 27, 2021 at 3:49 am

    I wish myself going to any store in my country and being as informed as now… All data, issues, funcionality of each brand/solutions at hand… You’re rocking the world of appliances’ reviews – keep it going!



  19. Dave Bowman on April 27, 2021 at 3:49 am

    He is correct about Bosch Crystal dry…works great. Miele is the best…just pricing. Go with a Bosch with Crystal dry or a Miele….Beko is a Bloomberg…racks fall apratr



  20. rubbercop01 on April 27, 2021 at 3:49 am

    Miele is perhaps the most expensive diswasher, but remember in Europe we go for quality, got one myself, its not a bread you buy daily



  21. Living 2Day on April 27, 2021 at 3:51 am

    I researched for a long time for a dishwasher that had a heating element, dries, actually washes, and had high consumer rating. I chose poorly. I was excited looking towards the delivery of my Kitchenaid handleless dishwasher #604KPS. The purpose of this dishwasher was to make my life easier due to not being able to be on my feet too long. Hand washing was becoming too much, so I had my kitchen remodeled to fit a dishwasher and a drawer microwave. (It has been over 6 months and I am still waiting for my SS French door refrigerator.)

    PROS: Beautiful stainless steel tub and finger proof stainless steel front. Three gray flex racks, easy food pull out strainer, advertised feature of a heater element with fan.

    CONS: Does not have a dry only option to re-dry wet dishes. Did not dry dishes. Did not clean dishes.

    I bought the recommended dishwasher pods. My first wash was a BIG DISAPPOINTMENT. I loaded half full of clean to mild dirty rinsed off dishes. It is not whisper quiet, yet the noise it makes is faint. After the cycle, when I opened the door, I was shocked to see everything was soaking wet — it took over 2 days to air dry in the desert air. The few dishes that were mildly dirty were untouched, still dirty. Some of the dark colored dishes had a white film on them that easily toweled off. I haven’t done a 2nd load — I don’t have enough dishes to load to give it another try. I specifically didn’t buy a Bosch because my mom hated hers so much because she had to prewash dishes and hand dry them. Her Bosch did not have a heating element at the bottom of the tub. She ended up using it as a dish sanitizer. (She had it serviced several times and was told that was normal — there was nothing wrong with her Bosch). She was hoping it would die quickly so she could buy another dishwasher. After 15 years it still worked, but she passed away instead. (It is now 20 years old and still going — now my dad has to hand wash and dry them).

    I have had several dishwasher that were dish sanitizers — meaning it didn’t clean any dishes, instead it rinsed in hot water and did a decent job of drying, though not thoroughly. One home I bought a new Kitchenaid dishwasher that did not have a stainless steel tub. That was the best dishwasher I every owned. It did an exceptional job washing and drying dishes — never a complaint. I was hoping since I paid substantially more for a stainless steel tub with more features that it would also clean and dry the dishes. With performance like this, I could have bought a low end no name dishwasher instead.

    UPDATE: Left dishes in dishwasher 12 hours … they came out dry except some drops on a plastic lid and pan. Now I know to not open for 12 hours.



  22. Peter S on April 27, 2021 at 3:52 am

    Many older dishwashers (and a few cheap new ones) have a vent on the front near the top, and moist warm air is released into the room while drying (except warm air rises and caused minor damage to the underside of my cheapo pressboard arborite countertop in that spot).
    Lately it has become more fashionable to hide that vent on the side of the door. How nice, now moist air is released onto the adjacent expensive wood cabinetry. Will that ruin the wood finish there after a few years? Will it be easy to match the repaired wood finish to the rest of the cabinets, or will this fashionable venting cause unfashionable permanent cabinet damage?



  23. Brenda Edens on April 27, 2021 at 3:55 am

    2 drawer Dishwashers???



  24. Dawann Williams on April 27, 2021 at 3:55 am

    Thank you so much for this video. I bought GE appliances because l loved the black stainless steel at the time. After 3 years the water pump went up. I have no plans to get another GE model and there is no other color match for my appliances so have been doing research on panel ready dishwasher. Of course l cannot find a Bosch 300 dishwasher anywhere. I will look into Beko. Thanks so much for sharing.



  25. Christian Peardon on April 27, 2021 at 4:00 am

    This was very helpful as my less than one year old Samsung stopped working after 4 service visits. I’m going with KitchenAid!



  26. fourc33 on April 27, 2021 at 4:03 am

    Hi I don’t see the zp5n designation on bosch’s website anymore, did they do an update?



  27. Amber Hollo on April 27, 2021 at 4:06 am

    I found the Bosch 100 24” supposedly available at Lowes near me. Bought it online. Shall see if its really in stock. Eek!



  28. Loinest Bonin on April 27, 2021 at 4:06 am

    They don’t make appliances the way they use too there made cheap and have no quality everything is made out of plastic and they don’t last like they use too a good appliance would last you 20 years or more today’s appliance your lucky to get 5 years.



  29. Gray Beard on April 27, 2021 at 4:09 am

    I’m still using a Whirlpool Quiet Partner from Sears (remember them?). The days of a good $300 DW are long gone. Very sad.



  30. Kathy Hutchison on April 27, 2021 at 4:10 am

    Your hands and a dish rack! I just got a brand new GE that runs for 118 minutes and doesn’t clean ….or dry…anything!



  31. Sandra Moore on April 27, 2021 at 4:11 am

    You didn’t cover what some would consider the most important thing. The utensil holders. When I bought a new machine I had to take the old holder out and put it in the new machine, because the new machine’s were super small and wouldn’t hold a lot of the utensils that I use. I also had a utensil holder in the door of my old machine that I always used, that I couldn’t put in the new machine.



  32. bill hamre on April 27, 2021 at 4:12 am

    We got our Miele dishwasher 9 years and have never had a problem with it. In fact it still amazes us on how good it is.



  33. PETE SCHEKIN on April 27, 2021 at 4:12 am

    What’s Yale opinion on Cove dishwasher? Thank you…



  34. Peppermynt Patti on April 27, 2021 at 4:13 am

    I’ve been waiting for a year to buy a new dishwasher. They keep telling me it’s basically a crapshoot waiting to receive them. So I keep waiting for the situation to get better but it doesn’t seem to be. Now summer is coming and I’m not going to have to stick around home in case my dishwasher shows up. I am hand washing dishes right now. I may be hand washing forever. When they are finally available I’ll have the information I need thanks to your videos. I just keep watching them in hopes that one day I’ll be able to plunk down my money for a much needed appliance.



  35. Kris M on April 27, 2021 at 4:15 am

    Is the pull out racks on kitchen aid better then before? We currently have a kitchen aid dishwasher. The rollers on the top rack fails 85% of the time now and it’s been leaking but we can’t figure out why. It’s an older one, with our kitchen remodel we changing out all appliances.

    I’m about to order our appliances because I know it may take time for them to come in. We were going Bosch 800 because of the current issues with our kitchen aid. Your video has me second guessing that.

    Would you do kitchen aid over Bosch? Bosch had me with the adjustable 3rd rack.



  36. Claudia Woods on April 27, 2021 at 4:15 am

    All my questions answered .



  37. E O on April 27, 2021 at 4:17 am

    The best appliance is the one that works day in, day out for years. I recommend Bosch based on the very quiet effective dishwasher in my kitchen for the last 15 years.



  38. Crystal Gallman on April 27, 2021 at 4:18 am

    I love my Kitchen Aid at $1199



  39. Susan Smith on April 27, 2021 at 4:23 am

    Your video reviews are the best I’ve found and your FREE DISHWASHER BUYING GUIDE is very comprehensive. If I lived in your area, I’d certainly buy from you for the product AND the service which I’m sure is as top notch as your videos. 🥰 Thanks so much for posting these. I watched every one! 😊



  40. Ronald Oleksy on April 27, 2021 at 4:23 am

    I have an Asko 30 plus years old.just removed it from operation leaking pump other than that never needed service. Model 1502..In the early 90s $949….



  41. markstanleywinemaking on April 27, 2021 at 4:23 am

    I want one that’s really loud and really cleans the dishes! If I must hand wash them first then what’s the point?
    The "smarter" an appliance is the faster they break. Integrated circuits + water+ heat is a recipe for malfunction. I try not to buy anything that’s smarter than me. OK I’m kind of joking but there’s truth in there.



  42. EK Ng Hoversten on April 27, 2021 at 4:24 am

    I’d like to get a Bosch dishwasher, probably in the 500 or 800 Series. But we’re getting the Thermador appliance package and it offers their line of dishwasher. Our salesperson told us that the Bosch and Thermador dishwashers are essentially the same because Bosch owns Thermador. What’s your opinion? Your posts are always informative. Thank you for posting them.



  43. Mike Wright on April 27, 2021 at 4:26 am

    Great video



  44. Jimmy on April 27, 2021 at 4:26 am

    After waiting just over 3 months, Yale just delivered the Miele G7106SCUSS that replaced a Bosch 850 something. The wait was worth it. The construction of the Miele is more substantial than that of the Bosch, and probably most other dishwashers (the Miele sides, back, and top are covered with SS panels). The Miele can also hold more wide dishes and bowls due to the wider spaced tines and upper utensil rack. One recommendation for Yale is to include a copy of the instruction showing how to open the door of a Miele dishwasher with auto-opening door. I had to Google for instructions.



  45. Al Bundy on April 27, 2021 at 4:27 am

    great info but please 86 the music. it’s distracting. looking forward to more videos (sans music, i hope=)).