TCL 6 Series TV Review (2020) – A Great Budget 4K Offering

Last year’s TCL 6 Series was a very popular and exciting TV because it offered great picture quality for the price. Today we’ll be looking at its successor, the 2020 6 Series, and see if it can follow in its footsteps.

Full review:
https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/tcl/6-series-r635-2020

Model tested: 55” (55R635)
Should also be valid for the 65”, 75”,

Support us: https://www.rtings.com/insider
Careers: https://www.rtings.com/company/careers

Follow us:
https://www.facebook.com/rtingscom

https://www.instagram.com/rtingsdotcom/

00:00 Intro
00:56 Design
01:36 Inputs
02:11 Picture Quality
02:28 Contrast
02:51 Local Dimming
03:21 Viewing Angle
03:44 Reflections
04:03 Peak Brightness
04:36 Uniformity
05:40 Color Volume & Gamut
06:02 Gradient
06:28 Motion
06:37 Response Time
07:06 Black Frame Insertion
07:30 Input Lag
08:22 Smart Features
08:39 Sound
09:00 Overview
0944 Conclusion

We make money directly from you via insider access on our website (which gives you access to extra features: https://www.rtings.com/insider) and when you buy a product after clicking a link to a retailer. Learn more about how we work: https://www.rtings.com/company/about-us

#RTINGSdotcom #TCLTV #TVReview

50 Comments

  1. timeclockfraud on February 1, 2021 at 6:19 pm

    No HDMI 2.1, no thanks



  2. jordan rausch on February 1, 2021 at 6:19 pm

    This better then Samsung nu6900?



  3. Miguel Torres on February 1, 2021 at 6:20 pm

    My 55in 6 series will be here Sunday, so stoked! It’s my first ever new tv



  4. Enstarius on February 1, 2021 at 6:22 pm

    How to change display resolution ? I really cant Find option for that …



  5. Harish Singh on February 1, 2021 at 6:23 pm

    it would be great if you play some content on TV



  6. travelinSmooth on February 1, 2021 at 6:23 pm

    Really was looking forward to upgrade my 6 series 2018.. They really drop the ball with no hdmi 2.1 and the screen blooming. Guess i’ll just wait and see what happens next year or look else where.



  7. stromystruck on February 1, 2021 at 6:25 pm

    I’m lookingbfor the R635 65 here in Mexico but cant find it anywhere….. does it go by a different model number in Mexico?



  8. Tee on February 1, 2021 at 6:26 pm

    Great Review.

    (IMO) TCL P715 4KQUHDTV is amazing for a budget TV. Gamer friendly and has a game mode ready to use for the next gen consoles. It’s worth it if you want a budget 4KTV for gaming.

    TCL Well Done.



  9. sunelven on February 1, 2021 at 6:26 pm

    Is it Android? Roku? or what?



  10. SUGAR RAY on February 1, 2021 at 6:27 pm

    Slow…….Down.. You make it seem as if you did this review @ 4:55 pm on a Friday and half the crew was on there way out the door..



  11. Anh Hao Nguyen on February 1, 2021 at 6:28 pm

    I just purchased the 5 series 65inch model last week at Costco Canada. The is a yellow border around the screen that is noticeable when the image is light or white.. Did some research and many people have this problem. I wanted to know if you guys had the same problem and were wondering if the series 6 have the same problem



  12. Mark on February 1, 2021 at 6:31 pm

    Anyone know when this is coming to the UK?



  13. James on February 1, 2021 at 6:31 pm

    If I stream sports from YoutubeTV, will that reflect on the 120hz tv?



  14. ShaustyProductions on February 1, 2021 at 6:31 pm

    You got a friend in me



  15. Trev Dev on February 1, 2021 at 6:32 pm

    When I set the tv at 1440p at 120 hz on my pc, I get a small horizontal white line on the top of my tv as well brightness flicker in some games is this a software issue or hardware issue or will I have to connect to a 2.1 hdmi port on a newer graphics card



  16. Michael Valdez on February 1, 2021 at 6:32 pm

    Should I get this or
    The Sony 900h



  17. Luís Cardoso on February 1, 2021 at 6:33 pm

    Please don’t buy TCL products, their assistance and support is really poor. Website does not provide good firmware updates.
    I have a 65 TCL Xess X2, supposedly their flagship 2 years ago with Quantom DOT equivalent. Their support has been a mess and for example Motion compensation does not save the option, Everytime a netflix show or movie starts, the tV just resets to maximum motion compensation, wich is REALLY annoying!
    Tv just wakes up alone in the middle of night, one time I thought I was being robbed when I heard the noise. Google it it’s a TCL problem.

    I really regret buying this TV, never again! Just buy competent and well established brands like samsung, LG, Panasonic or Sony.

    Just an honest opinion.
    Luis Cardoso



  18. Tactic Tense on February 1, 2021 at 6:35 pm

    Whats difference from hdmi 2.0 and 2.1?



  19. Jordan M on February 1, 2021 at 6:37 pm

    Thank you rtings! Because of your videos and website I ordered this today. Super helpful



  20. MrNagflar on February 1, 2021 at 6:37 pm

    Hi Good review . TCL 6 series is US model . can i know the equivalent model in Asia or Malaysia model ? closest i can find is TCL C716 QLED . but i am not sure.



  21. Fellow99 99 on February 1, 2021 at 6:41 pm

    The TCL TV has a nice picture, but between the Roku system interface, proprietary features, and the minor cost-cutting designs issues discovered after installation, it’s much better to spend a little more from a legitimate TV vendor then deal with numerous frustrating deficiencies. No Bluetooth! They provide a 3.5mm jack so I can use my 1986 Sony Walkman wired headphones or purchase proprietary Roku wireless speakers. So my new TCL TV is not compatible with my wireless Bose headphones, wireless Sony Speakers or new security camera system. Auxiliary Bluetooth transmitters are available–at an additional cost.

    The TCL remote sensor is positioned directly on the front of the TV. So if you position a center speaker anywhere in front; it blocks the sensor, which causes the remote to not function. Your only other option is to purchase a $50 IR extender. More wires and more time/ money. The TCL only has one USB port to source the extender power, so to use a remote control, you must sacrifice that port.

    My 12 year old Samsung could do more and operate easier than the 2021 TCL TV. Yes it has a nice picture, but the TCL product line is annoying to use and will require additional purchases and time in order for it to actual work. I did much research and the entire TCL Series product line suffers from the same issues. Even a Series 8 will nickel and dime you: buy any other reputable brand.



  22. What-a- Fish on February 1, 2021 at 6:42 pm

    No 2.1 is a no no in 2020😬



  23. TakeTheMTwain on February 1, 2021 at 6:43 pm

    Excuse me, but I believe eARC is an HDMI 2.1 technology. I think that port is HDMI 2.1. Perhaps someone could look into that. Update: I just looked into it. Called TCL. This guy is wrong. It has one HDMI 2.1 port. It does eARC, 4K at 60Hz and it will do 120Hz but only at 1440 rez. The other 3 HDMI ports at 2.0b.



  24. Rtings.com on February 1, 2021 at 6:44 pm

    At 00:25, the time stamps on  screen should be :
    00:56 Design
    01:36 Inputs
    02:11 Picture Quality
    06:28 Motion
    07:30 Input Lag
    08:39 Sound
    09:00 Overall



  25. Robert Hernandez on February 1, 2021 at 6:47 pm

    I chose TCL over Hisnese becuase of E-arc i have 7.2.2 dolby atmos System



  26. SomeRyeBread on February 1, 2021 at 6:47 pm

    Anyone else think he looks A LOT like Cal Kestis (Cameron Monaghan) from Jedi Fallen Order?



  27. Villy P on February 1, 2021 at 6:48 pm

    wait so does this have 2.1hdmi?



  28. rupi on February 1, 2021 at 6:51 pm

    this vs the tcl p8m?



  29. Charlie Roman Castelluzzo on February 1, 2021 at 6:52 pm

    Is it a native 120hz tv or 60hz, for gaming on 4K? He says it does not flicker at 120hz, not sure if that’s the same thing? Thanks.



  30. Ahmad Haruman on February 1, 2021 at 6:56 pm

    The "Conclusion" timestamp is broken in the description.

    Conclusion 09:44



  31. SoldierOfSunrise on February 1, 2021 at 6:56 pm

    Thanks a lot for the detailed review! For me, this TV is the biggest disappointment in the recent years. Tell me… what’s the point of using a 10 bit panel, if you can deliver only that poor color gradient performance? And why do you build a TV upon a 120 Hz panel, when you can produce only that crappy motion handling…? (Hisense H9G eats this TV for breakfast btw…)



  32. HAZOX Lemus on February 1, 2021 at 6:56 pm

    Is it Worth the upgrade over my 4 series??



  33. Notorious_MIG on February 1, 2021 at 6:57 pm

    Should I buy this for my new Xbox/Playstation? seems like a good deal at $900 CAD (though obviously Black Friday is still coming). Are there other TVs in this price range with HDMI 2.1 and a similar feature set?



  34. Rich Lewis on February 1, 2021 at 6:59 pm

    DON’T BUY A TCL PRODUCT!!!!! THEY’RE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NON EXISTENT!!!! I BOUGHT A 4 SERIES 75" AND 3 WEEKS AFTER THE PURCHASE, IT WILL NOT READ A WIFI SIGNAL, RENDERING IT USELESS. I WENT THROUGH HOURS OF RESET PROCEDURES AND DOWNLOADS OF SOFTWARE, TO NO AVAIL. NOW THEY TRY TO BRUSH ME OFF TO THE NEXT TCL SUPPORT OPERATOR FROM INDIA. I’VE SENT EMAIL AFTER EMAIL BEGGING FOR SUPPORT. ZERO RESPONSE HORRIBLE COMPANY



  35. ILoveKin 1 on February 1, 2021 at 7:00 pm

    This TV is compatible with Xbox séries S? Xbox comes with a 2.1 HDMI. But the TV is 2.0 compatible
    Im confusd!!!



  36. Ultimacloud on February 1, 2021 at 7:00 pm

    this younger guy is definitely better at speaking he should be doing these reviews more often he was much much clearer than most of the others ive heard review tvs on Rtings. He was quick straight to the point and easy to understand give that man a promotion.



  37. Kiran Kolli on February 1, 2021 at 7:00 pm

    sir good afternoon, i tried to purchase motorola zx2 but it is not available with our pin code, so i want to buy TCLP615, was my decision correct.



  38. Robert Hernandez on February 1, 2021 at 7:02 pm

    O



  39. seif hassan on February 1, 2021 at 7:03 pm

    is this P615??



  40. Jacob Baranowski on February 1, 2021 at 7:04 pm

    is that the guy from Shamless US and Gothem, and Star Wars Jedi Falen Order . compar this tv with Highsens H9G



  41. alucard 2680 on February 1, 2021 at 7:05 pm

    I guess this tv is useless if your planning on getting a ps5



  42. Ben Williams on February 1, 2021 at 7:08 pm

    should i get this or amazon Toshiba 2020 model



  43. Bogart1980 on February 1, 2021 at 7:09 pm

    Is this getting AirPlay?



  44. Nick Sainburg on February 1, 2021 at 7:12 pm

    HEY RTINGS!!!

    The TCL r635 got a major update that really REALLY improved the black crush that was happening. PLEASE look into this and post an update! This tv DESERVES it!!



  45. Nestor Castro on February 1, 2021 at 7:13 pm

    I can’t get the VRR to work or show up on this TV when connect to a PC. Is that expected? Is VRR only for Xbox and next gen consoles?



  46. Nader Zein on February 1, 2021 at 7:13 pm

    Is this the same as the R613CA?



  47. Nick Sainburg on February 1, 2021 at 7:15 pm

    This ain’t a budget tv. Cmon guys



  48. sovanndara soun on February 1, 2021 at 7:15 pm

    Since it doesn’t have Freesync or Gsync compatibility, will it have screen tearing or ghosting or any issue?



  49. Marcos Martinez on February 1, 2021 at 7:16 pm

    He’s cute.



  50. Richie Rich on February 1, 2021 at 7:17 pm

    HELP!!! I’m thinking the 75" TCL6, good size & TV for $1400 @ Best Buy.
    I sit 13ft away, others 6ft>, room’s only 14 ft wide, so not worried about angle viewing. Lighter room, no glare and can darken some nicely, not DARK. Mostly Movie watching or online videos. I could have gone with a 10ft projector, but just some of the bells & whistles I wanted, the cost climbed quickly. But I do like a BIG screen, will probably run a screen saver and use it as a wall decoration?! Love the Big Movie Screen, some good sci-fi, rock concerts, playing youtube lists, want a sound system. So these are what I’m down to, just a wide list…

    $1400 TCL – 75" 6 Series good size & TV for price.
    Then what about $300 more???
    $1700 Samsung – 82" Class 9 Series Gotta say… 82" and a samsung
    $1700 Samsung – 75" Class Q70T $300 more Q70T over the TCL-6
    $1700 Samsung – 65" Class Q80T $300 smaller screen, but a Q80T (2small)
    Then I think well $1800 price is another $100 up…
    $1800 Sony – 75" X900H a bit pricey but it is a Sony?
    $1800 LG – 75" Class NanoCell 90 $400 MORE? Nano VS Q70T ??
    Really still looking, but it is 86"…
    $1900 LG – 86" UN8500 BIGGER is better?
    Then I see $2000 crazy, what am I thinking???
    $2000 VIZIO -65" OLED 65"? it’s an OLED
    $2000 VIZIO -75" P-Series Quantum X???

    I’m think $1400 is more than I need, but $300 gets a Samsung 82" or just another $100, meaning $400 gets me the LG 86" ?? But am I crazy thinking the $2000 Vizio 75" P or the smaller Vizio 65" OLED ???
    HELP ME, I am going crazy and the people at best buy are as lost as me!