TCL 6-Series (R635) QLED TV Review | Even Better?

The TCL 6-Series brings the same mini-LED backlight tech that we saw in the company’s 8-Series last year, at a very approachable price. At under $1000 for the 65-inch QLED TV, it could be one of the best values in TV for 2020. But tricky picture settings could stand in the way of viewers getting the best picture quality. How much work does it take to coax the best from the TCL 6-Series? We’ll walk you through it.

0:00 – Intro
0:49 – Cable Management
1:19 – SDR Picture Settings
2:35 – HDR Picture Settings
3:55 – Dolby Vision Picture Settings
5:18 – Mini-LED Technology
5:52 – Screen Uniformity
6:19 – Backlight Technology
7:04 – Brightness
7:44 – Color
8:13 – Motion
8:47 – Gaming
10:21 – Should You Buy The TCL 6 Series?

The TCL 6-Series is available here – https://amzn.to/3hQVAIE

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS
http://bit.ly/DTYouTubeSub

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS
https://www.digitaltrends.com/

In our studio:
BDI Corridor Media Console: https://bit.ly/2u1IMrs https://amzn.to/2JtnA8v

Music: https://artlist.io/Digital-142302

Digital Trends may earn a commission when you buy through links on our channels.

FOLLOW US!
https://www.facebook.com/digitaltrends

https://www.instagram.com/digitaltrends

#TCL6Series #QLED #Review

50 Comments

  1. curt k81 on February 1, 2021 at 6:19 pm

    I bought this tv for gaming mainly and with just a little bit of tinkering it just looks amazing. My only complaint is on Amazon prime the text is a tad blurry. Any ideas how to make it better would be appreciated. All in all for the money it’s an amazing tv. I was considering this and the Sony x900h but I keep hearing about issues it has with vrr. So I just saved a few hundred and went with the tcl



  2. Marshall Poe on February 1, 2021 at 6:20 pm

    TCL TVs are allowing the Chinese to spy on you. Trash your TCL NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



  3. Zep Cubacub on February 1, 2021 at 6:20 pm

    Are tcl tvs reliable over the years?



  4. Chad S on February 1, 2021 at 6:20 pm

    How did you get into those settings? I can’t find them anywhere



  5. Yuri on February 1, 2021 at 6:20 pm

    Only if ppl understood how state owned TCL is. Clean bc it’s subsidized to compete unfairly not because its actually that cheap. Wouldn’t support this.



  6. v Højgaard n on February 1, 2021 at 6:21 pm

    Is this guy payed to promote TCL?



  7. Daath Gnosis on February 1, 2021 at 6:22 pm

    that’s such horrible advice considering this tv isn’t even possible to buy in most parts of the world



  8. Lovelynelly 92 on February 1, 2021 at 6:23 pm

    All the newer movies are Widescreen on this tv and take away inches from the tv . Wth no one mentioned this in the reviews ugh . FYI everyone if your a big movie watcher be prepared for widescreen on almost all newer movies making screen look smaller



  9. Mr on February 1, 2021 at 6:26 pm

    I just want this TV in 55-inch



  10. matt mcdonald on February 1, 2021 at 6:26 pm

    I can’t get the hdr setting on it



  11. RUNR GB on February 1, 2021 at 6:26 pm

    Just got mine this morning from Amazon. Planning on calibrating it when I get home from work 😀



  12. Forrest Proctor on February 1, 2021 at 6:30 pm

    Caleb Dennison is BEST TV reviewer in the whole of YouTube! Thanks for the great videos!!!



  13. erictko85 on February 1, 2021 at 6:31 pm

    Bought one via your link. Thanks for the great informative reviews. I will post here once ive had it for a while.



  14. Hulk Amania on February 1, 2021 at 6:33 pm

    Can I use this TV without setting up the roku crap. I just wanna ignore all that stuff, i dont even want the tv connected to the internet. I have an nvidia shield for that stuff and no way i would switch to roku.



  15. bes F. on February 1, 2021 at 6:33 pm

    my 55r635 does NOT have the option of HDR on mode or settings? why?



  16. Old School Blues Player on February 1, 2021 at 6:35 pm

    How about *RELIABILITY* ? Yeah…thats what I thought



  17. Jeff G on February 1, 2021 at 6:35 pm

    Question: can you reverse the supporting legs to point inward?



  18. Tedros Abraha on February 1, 2021 at 6:35 pm

    I hate Roku TV with passion. I wish they had made this Android TV or their own proprietary OS. Roku 🤮



  19. Rudie Obias on February 1, 2021 at 6:36 pm

    Does TCL last long though?



  20. Albert Garcia on February 1, 2021 at 6:37 pm

    I will wait for the 120 4k or 8k



  21. Zana Rasoul on February 1, 2021 at 6:37 pm

    Great review. I’m look to get a new tv. How does this compare to Samsung q70 or q80?



  22. tigerbalm on February 1, 2021 at 6:37 pm

    You don’t need to play console games higher than 1440P anyway! And consoles cannot even play @4K at anything more than 60FPS…



  23. libatako on February 1, 2021 at 6:38 pm

    You’ve got a sub…first 4 minutes of the vid and all of it was to my liking.



  24. Carpediem06 on February 1, 2021 at 6:39 pm

    great review Caleb.. as usual.



  25. penthesilliaas on February 1, 2021 at 6:44 pm

    I just bought this tv and it has no such settings. All there is is brightness!



  26. Jake Mastroianni on February 1, 2021 at 6:44 pm

    What are the best settings for watching sports on this TV? I just bought one and get a lot of motion blurriness when watching sports (mainly basketball right now, but I watch a lot of baseball and football as well).



  27. John Vore on February 1, 2021 at 6:45 pm

    I thought I would love this TV. 4K pictures are great. The real issues are you guys never talk about SDR. YouTube TV and Sling TV suck. My HD Homerun picture flat out sucks. You guys should always let us know how streaming services look on these TVs.



  28. Hubba Bubba on February 1, 2021 at 6:45 pm

    Had it for 2 weeks its already bugging out, UI issues and sound issues but both get fixed by unplugging and plugging. I an worried that it wont last me long



  29. Jacky Wickzzz on February 1, 2021 at 6:46 pm

    I heard the black crushing is bad on the 55 inch. I heard the 65 inch is much better. Can anyone prove it ? I really wan to give the mini led a chance.



  30. Peter Donnellan on February 1, 2021 at 6:49 pm

    what is this TV called in Europe/UK?? trying to buy it now, but the "6 series" doesn’t seem to find anything…😒



  31. Rick BauR on February 1, 2021 at 6:49 pm

    Is the TCL 55 Q637 the same as this? Any difference?



  32. Nathan F on February 1, 2021 at 6:51 pm

    Where is this TV stand from?



  33. Michael on February 1, 2021 at 6:51 pm

    Just picked up this tv after seeing your unboxing/review and it has exceeded my expectations! Thanks for such solid and level headed reviews.



  34. SF Videos on February 1, 2021 at 6:55 pm

    It’s a shame if I will have to choose another brand of 55" TV because this TCL’s feet won’t fit on my old TV stand!



  35. Royal Boyle78 on February 1, 2021 at 7:00 pm

    Just returned the TCL R635 65” is was so trash.



  36. The Watcher Man on February 1, 2021 at 7:03 pm

    What is wrong with Motion Smothing?



  37. Pieter Puk on February 1, 2021 at 7:05 pm

    ten of thousands?? max 50 leds……………………………………….. and normaly 5 leds per 50 cm



  38. Momofoku on February 1, 2021 at 7:06 pm

    Too technical lol



  39. jerrodkilla23 on February 1, 2021 at 7:07 pm

    No console is going to do 4K 120hz at all, so this is actually fantastic that it’s capped @1440p 120hz.



  40. SF Videos on February 1, 2021 at 7:08 pm

    Is this TV any good with SDR? With my crazy-slow Internet, I expect to have exactly ZERO sources for HDR.



  41. RojasTKD7 on February 1, 2021 at 7:08 pm

    Yes, h9g comparison!



  42. M Fish on February 1, 2021 at 7:09 pm

    Does this TV feature the Chinese spyware we all love?



  43. linearline on February 1, 2021 at 7:10 pm

    warm is way too yellow that it does look accurate at all



  44. kmg player on February 1, 2021 at 7:11 pm

    please compare samsung tu8000 and tcl p715 tv



  45. Jacob Baranowski on February 1, 2021 at 7:13 pm

    dose this make the series 4 better ? or should I get a series 5 or 6? 8:48 is all I need to know, what is the imput lag? oh no 4k 120 but has varibel refresh reate low imput lag, yes I want to see the comparison with the Highsense H89g



  46. The VlogsOfDAB on February 1, 2021 at 7:16 pm

    Hey where did you get the space content at 7:05?



  47. Tim Pro on February 1, 2021 at 7:16 pm

    2:05 Why do you turn off action smoothing and action clarity?



  48. Mummy Napkin on February 1, 2021 at 7:17 pm

    Why tf did your intro play twice?? lmaooo



  49. Jay Flores on February 1, 2021 at 7:17 pm

    I returned mines bcuz black details suck. Itll make your screen look more black than it should. To a point that you can’t tell what’s going on



  50. Ross Romero on February 1, 2021 at 7:17 pm

    How are the viewing angles? I heard that was an issue on the 2019 8-Series.