Samsung's best 4K TV of 2021 is QLED (QN90A review)

OLED TVs have the best picture quality available, but Samsung’s latest QLED model is gunning hard for the crown. Powered by an all-new mini-LED backlight and more precise light control, it promises superior brightness without blooming and stray illumination. Can it topple the king? Here’s a full, in-depth comparison.

00:20 Mini LED
00:45 Design
02:13 Remote
03:01 Menu system
04:38 Gaming
06:07 Picture quality
08:15 Conclusion

Read full review on CNET:
https://www.cnet.com/reviews/samsung-qn65qn90a-review/

Subscribe to CNET: https://www.youtube.com/user/CNETTV
CNET playlists: https://www.youtube.com/user/CNETTV/playlists
Download the new CNET app: https://cnet.app.link/GWuXq8ExzG
Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cnet
Follow us on Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/cnet
Follow us on Instagram: http://bit.ly/2icCYYm

50 Comments

  1. JUR O on June 26, 2021 at 8:31 pm

    Hey guys, this is the best TV for 2021! Review over! Go buy it now!๐Ÿคซ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Why you showed mass effect…..I never played 3 for more then 20 minutes after I murdered my whole team in 2
    ..๐Ÿฅฒ and I played the first 1 so many times not knowing that out bound could be broken in the last mission in part 2 ,everybody gone…โ˜น ๐Ÿ’”



  2. AntrAcsA on June 26, 2021 at 8:34 pm

    Sorry but G1 is not the brightest OLED TV…



  3. JUAN JUAREZ on June 26, 2021 at 8:36 pm

    Does anyone know if this TV has HDMI 2.1?



  4. finest creations on June 26, 2021 at 8:38 pm

    Sorry but OLED IS OLED wish it becomes cheap. Also i dont mind a normal LED if its 8k . PPI is more important



  5. Rockovissi on June 26, 2021 at 8:40 pm

    But does it pass through multichannel lossless PCM? Because I have a Q70R and this is a big issue for me. Because the lack of eARC, you canโ€™t have Dolby Atmos and Freesync at the same time. You have to choose one or the other. I bought the TV for Freesync but donโ€™t even use it because Iโ€™d rather have Dolby Atmos.



  6. Tay Tay on June 26, 2021 at 8:41 pm

    Had this tv went with the c1 instead.. it wasnโ€™t a bad tv I just donโ€™t think it was worth the price



  7. Shaaz's Tech Hub on June 26, 2021 at 8:42 pm

    Does YouTube TV work for you!?



  8. Koreskalp on June 26, 2021 at 8:42 pm

    Hope that you can ask Samsung if their intention is to rollout this new technology into all of their high end TVs and in particular into the Frame which is so far behind in terms of technology compared to its concurrence.



  9. Raza Saigol on June 26, 2021 at 8:43 pm

    Disappointing that samsung does not include 4 hdmi 2.1 ports. While LG does. And yet they charge premium pricing for these tv’s…. Everyone now has more than one console or streaming box that is hdmi 2.1. Switching your hdmi cable is going to be inconvenient.



  10. Randy Anthony on June 26, 2021 at 8:44 pm

    If your worried about burn in would you choose this over oled? Or no?



  11. Basem Almoudares on June 26, 2021 at 8:45 pm

    Hey David! but why Samsung aren’t producing OLED like TVs like LG, and is Samsung manufacturing its mobiles screen the same way, i.e. are they LED-backlit only, not a real LED panels!



  12. SunsyloFitness on June 26, 2021 at 8:45 pm

    I still using the old 42โ€™ Samsung wouldnโ€™t upgrade until it burn out cause ๐Ÿ“บ is just a ๐Ÿ“บ to me bro ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜„โœŒ๐Ÿฝ



  13. Moody Ali on June 26, 2021 at 8:45 pm

    I disagree the hisense u8g is better



  14. Ares Varvaro on June 26, 2021 at 8:46 pm

    "If, for some reason, you don’t want an oled tv…" emhh I don’t know like BURN IN?! Are we really gonna try and hide the fact that this new mini led technology is going to completely annihilate the market for oled screens?



  15. robert patrie on June 26, 2021 at 8:48 pm

    Here’s a good design tip stop using strict quick app buttons and allow customization of which app a select few of buttons open up.



  16. Matt Jones on June 26, 2021 at 8:48 pm

    Stop excusing Samsung for not putting Dolby Vision in their TVs. It’s absolutely ridiculous, anti-consumer, and is purely a cost-saving move on their part to avoid licensing fees. This is a $2,300 TV. Vizio, Hisense, TCL, LG and Sony all support Dolby Vision on sets costing less than half as much, so Samsung can clearly afford it. Saying it performs well in HDR10 is like saying HD DVD was just as good as Blu-Ray in 2006. Is it technically true in terms of picture quality at the time? Sure. Is it becoming very clear that Dolby Vision is becoming the HDR standard? Yes.



  17. Sambain on June 26, 2021 at 8:48 pm

    FALD TVs are garbage. Mini LEDs are just fancy FALD trash. OLED TVs are garbage and is a scam. Dual Layer LCDs and Micro LEDs are the future.



  18. md firoz on June 26, 2021 at 8:50 pm

    First xoami handfill remote small key button



  19. Stephen Powstinger on June 26, 2021 at 8:52 pm

    I see very low inventory at my local Best B. Very few TVs, mostly the cheap models. More TVs at Costco but a curious shortage of sub-55โ€ models.



  20. TravionMusic on June 26, 2021 at 8:53 pm

    I hope Hisense sells more this year.



  21. Nonya Bizwax on June 26, 2021 at 8:54 pm

    Saw it I. The store last week. Man this one lovely tv. Made me forget oiled. Bright, saturated and contrast was great



  22. Anthony Hershko on June 26, 2021 at 8:54 pm

    I have the QLED Q90R and I hate the blooming problem…
    I had LG CX and she had bad upscale and she was super darker.
    I had to use again the QLED Q90R.



  23. Jesus Mauri on June 26, 2021 at 8:55 pm

    What about movement?



  24. Jr Moncivais on June 26, 2021 at 8:56 pm

    Too much blooming.



  25. Whisper Status 74 on June 26, 2021 at 8:59 pm

    David! How do you not have a youtube channel! You are the OG TV guy!



  26. moosyx on June 26, 2021 at 8:59 pm

    This is the wrong smsung
    The good one is the (QN95A) this one has all 4 hdmi 2.1 and a conect box



  27. Liam Featherstone on June 26, 2021 at 9:06 pm

    QLED is and still will never be OLED. I’ve got one of each the LG OLED is a year older than my Samsung QLED and there’s no comparison



  28. Dangerous One on June 26, 2021 at 9:09 pm

    Does it have Apple TV app?



  29. andy b on June 26, 2021 at 9:09 pm

    Good review C .. Why do you have to show idiots wearing dypers ?? Of all the footage you could have shown .



  30. victor Btc on June 26, 2021 at 9:11 pm

    Samsung 1 hdmi 2.1 , LG oled 4 hdmi 2.1,.



  31. nuwan Perera on June 26, 2021 at 9:12 pm

    Great tv by samsung



  32. Shawn M. on June 26, 2021 at 9:12 pm

    No Dolby Vision on Samsung tvs, so…



  33. GOD888SENT888 888demigod888 on June 26, 2021 at 9:13 pm

    Thank God no Bixby dedication dam good job Samsung ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿพ



  34. Victor Brasaventi on June 26, 2021 at 9:13 pm

    Is this woth 40% more than a LG cx of the same side? This os the price difference here where I live



  35. Davicito on June 26, 2021 at 9:13 pm

    This tv is just wow, highly recommend it if you like a bright and colorful image.



  36. anandkumar vemanamanda on June 26, 2021 at 9:14 pm

    What is the price of this in indian market



  37. stereotype69 on June 26, 2021 at 9:15 pm

    Is there a huge crack all across the screen that no one seems to talk about?



  38. Way on June 26, 2021 at 9:15 pm

    You guys donโ€™t knock Samsung enough for not supporting Dolby Vision.



  39. TL PRODIGIES on June 26, 2021 at 9:16 pm

    It’s an amazing TV, but the blooming does bother me at times.



  40. Eman on June 26, 2021 at 9:16 pm

    I wouldn’t give Scamsung one cent for this tv. Yea its good but they disrespectful with the pricing and its far from perfect. Id go U8g get a BB warranty and save ALOT OF MONEY



  41. STUART SATCHWELL on June 26, 2021 at 9:17 pm

    Samsung may have a fault when used with a set top box



  42. Renuka Sharma on June 26, 2021 at 9:17 pm

    Which latest model you suggest in samsung 2021 in 50"



  43. Jeff on June 26, 2021 at 9:18 pm

    The 1st think he said, almost as good as OLED…why doesn’t Samsung just make an OLED?



  44. foxtrap614 tango on June 26, 2021 at 9:21 pm

    I need more reviews.



  45. Rudy Z. on June 26, 2021 at 9:21 pm

    Samsung, LG manufacturer the best TVs for a while.



  46. gokul krishna on June 26, 2021 at 9:21 pm

    ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ



  47. JFPriest on June 26, 2021 at 9:21 pm

    Bright TV Means Heat..How do they get rid of it?? Also How are the panels?? Tired of the purchaser having to do QC and run checks on a brand new tv panel.



  48. Bogdan Serbanescu on June 26, 2021 at 9:21 pm

    Sony 2021 TV line up has all features Samsung 2021 Tv’s do not have.



  49. J Coz on June 26, 2021 at 9:23 pm

    I’m getting this beast in 85 inches & I can’t f(kin wait



  50. T. Smith on June 26, 2021 at 9:28 pm

    Too bad they don’t have Dolby Vision, that’s the deal breaker for me why I won’t get it.