Samsung QN90A QLED Review (2021) – Neo QLED Flagship

The long-awaited 2021 models are making their way through our doors and into our testing rooms. Among those we’ve tested are the Neo QLEDs from Samsung’s lineup: the QN85A and the QN90A. We’ll focus on the QN90A in this video, but we can’t help but make some comparisons to the QN85A as they’re both from the same TV lineup. Samsung is now using a Mini-LED backlight to improve contrast on their newest models. These are the first Samsung TVs to utilize Mini-LED, and we found this TV, in particular, to perform well across the board.

TV Review:
https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/qn90a-qled

Affiliate Links:

https://api.bestbuy.com/click/-/6451477/pdp?IPID=1989377

Related YouTube Videos:
Samsung QN85A & QN90A (2021) – TV Picture Settings

Model tested: 55 inch Samsung QN90A (QN55QN90A)
valid for the 65 inches (QN65QN90A), the 75 inch (QN75QN90A), and the 85-inch variants (QN85QN90A) available in North America.

Support Us: https://www.rtings.com/insider
Careers: https://www.rtings.com/company/careers

Follow Us:
https://www.facebook.com/rtingscom

https://www.instagram.com/rtingsdotcom/


00:00 Intro
01:24 Design
02:16 Smart Features
03:25 Picture Quality
12:03 Motion
14:11 Inputs
16:21 Sound Quality
16:45 Our verdict
17:31 Conclusion

We make money directly from you via insider access on our website (which gives you access to extra features: https://www.rtings.com/insider) and when you buy a product after clicking a link to a retailer. Learn more about how we work: https://www.rtings.com/company/about-us

#RTINGSdotcom #SamsungTV #QN90A #Review

50 Comments

  1. Joseph Dubiel on October 23, 2021 at 10:56 am

    What exactly is this "Dirty Screen Effect" ???



  2. ScrubTzero on October 23, 2021 at 10:57 am

    Best tv this year



  3. Paolo Benedicti on October 23, 2021 at 10:59 am

    Purchased that tv today… 🤞🏼expensive



  4. tenkensan1 on October 23, 2021 at 10:59 am

    Im not able to get rid of the horrizontal black bars in movies. I have the 55 inch version. What should I do? Is this just not posible in the 55 inch version? Any help is appreciated



  5. kozodoev on October 23, 2021 at 11:00 am

    qn90a isn’t a flagship, qn95a is



  6. Ronal Anand on October 23, 2021 at 11:00 am

    What is the refresh rate of 50 inch variant



  7. GraveUypo on October 23, 2021 at 11:00 am

    this tv has so many little shotcomings that feels like they’re asking premium prices for a mid-tier tv.



  8. SW6surfer on October 23, 2021 at 11:01 am

    I have the 75QN90 setup using a Denon X6300H AVR hosting various devices all working fine. All playing sound to my external Polk speaker system.
    What I haven’t figured out yet is, if I play Samsung Plus app directly on the TV, the sound is only heard on the TV speakers. It does not pass the sound back to the Denon. The Denon is using HDMI 3 as input to the TV (This supports ARC I believe). My Denon also supports ARC. I was expecting the sound to be passed back to my external speakers via the Denon. What am I missing? Any advice would be appreciated.



  9. RTINGS com on October 23, 2021 at 11:01 am

    UPDATE: After we posted this video review, we confirmed the QN90A 50" model also uses a VA panel. As a result, we expect our results to applicable to the 50" as well!



  10. James A on October 23, 2021 at 11:01 am

    Why is the 65inch £700 more than the 50inch. That’s ridiculous.



  11. Neil Punjani on October 23, 2021 at 11:03 am

    Hey Rtings. Please please let me know if the 50 inch q90A has an IPS or VA Panels? I was reading Reddit and someone said that Adam corrected it by saying that 50 inch is also VA. Can you please please confirm? Would appreciate it a lot.



  12. Lex Sanders on October 23, 2021 at 11:05 am

    Idk how you can say response time is excelent when Dark Souls looks like a blurry blue mess.
    Nothing has changed in samsung’s handling 0-20% since my Q80T….



  13. The Joeker on October 23, 2021 at 11:05 am

    How many local dimming zones does the 50” have compared to the 55”?



  14. LE-ME on October 23, 2021 at 11:07 am

    I can’t afford one some is out to financially ruin me they also trying to kill us all with. Covid19 stay in your bloody bastard’s..



  15. hao xu on October 23, 2021 at 11:09 am

    2022 will be a battle between Samsung’s new generation qd-oled panel and TCL od-zero miniled

    OLED and qled will withdraw from the stage of history!



  16. Alex Ciuca on October 23, 2021 at 11:09 am

    Hi all! I’m a bit reluctant in buying this tv due ti a lot of bad reviews in regards to the several DSE issues that this tv may have. What are your thoughts in this regard?



  17. Worldzworstgamer on October 23, 2021 at 11:09 am

    I’d prefer to not spend over $2k for a tv and so I got to ask will settling on the U78G from Hisense be ok? The sustained and peak cd/m2 you show is 600+ for the Hisense. Is this not good enough for decent HDR? This tv also has good blacks from what I saw in the review. All I want is good blacks and good HDR. I love the pop. Funny thing is I liked what I saw from a 400+ nit HDR tv so how much would I really benefit going to a QN90A and paying over twice as much over the U78G? Btw this tv would be for gaming at 4K with HDR on and watching 4K Netflix content.



  18. Matty on October 23, 2021 at 11:14 am

    I was about to order this TV, but then I now watching this review I’m questioning my decision. I see a lot of 8 ratings on this TV, can anyone advise which is the overall best TV out right now? I’m looking for a 75 inch screen. My wife and I enjoy gaming and watching movies.



  19. 3choBlast3r on October 23, 2021 at 11:16 am

    I’m legit jealous of the people who are getting this insanely good TV. That brightness, that absurd contrast, those dimming zones. Bro I’m salivating. It’s a shame that Samsung doesn’t support Dolby Vision though, still pushing their dead HDR10+. Also honestly, google TV for the win, kinda puzzling that Samsung doesn’t use google TV. Then again, I guess that might play a role in their super low latency in all conditions. And google TV, or at least android TV could be buggy as hell, at least on my old x900f.

    My x900f recently died and Sony offered me a x94j for 50% off. The deal is too good to not take. But I’m seriously considering selling the x94j when I get it after the weekend, add a few hundred euro on top and just get the qn90a

    I do wonder if the horrible native contrast also means that the little blooming it has will be a lot more visible than on other screens. I’d still prefer it over other screens though. FFS the x94j only has 24 damn dimming zones. What the fck is Sony thinking? They have this brilliant dimming algorithm, instead of capitalizing on it they cheap out in every possible way so they can put all the money into OLED. Even though LED is for many of us much better (for gaming, monitor use etc). I get that OLED is the better for movies, esp with the likes of sony’s incredible a90j, it just can’t be beat, not even with incredible brightness etc. But still many of us want a TV that we can leave on for hours without worrying about burn in.

    But no… Sony in 2017 with the x930e, 1500 nits brightness, great contrast, large amount of dimming zones, premium build. Sony in 2018 with x900f, 1000 nits, less zones. Sony in 2019/2021 750/790 nits, even less zones (and for the x94j literally pathetically few zones and even a plastic frame and stuff. Still 100mbit lan adapter, still same shtty SOC and only 2 x 2.1 of which one is earc) WTF sony



  20. bestlaptop psn on October 23, 2021 at 11:17 am

    Yeah the 43in" better become $500 real quick, this is just what I need. Also does anyone know if Sony finally updated their tv’s to have the gaming features that they promised



  21. QFAN on October 23, 2021 at 11:17 am

    Bought a 50-inch QN90A today. Got dead pixels (1 spot, 4-pixel cluster).

    Also, on full screen pure blue test I can see some grid pattern probably related to the lighting zones.
    Four edges are noticeably darker than the rest.



  22. lordtakuban on October 23, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Nice review except it completely glosses over the fact that Samsung’s antireflective technology ruins the tv by throwing rainbow reflections over the entire screen and any light coming from the side of the tv adds a huge band of glare across the full width of the screen. Totally ruined a great tv with that garbage.



  23. Rampage7 on October 23, 2021 at 11:19 am

    I know I’m unrealistic but I really thought that the QN90A would score significantly better than the 2019 Q90R… in terms of latency it seems to be quite better than the Q90R, but it seems only marginally better in several other areas

    But due to people price-gouging the remaining 2019 Q90R, it’s looking like the QN90A will be my choice in a few months by default (+/- $2k at Best Buy currently versus between $2,300 – $2,500+ for the 2019 Q90R on Amazon and other e-tailers)

    I would hold greater consideration for OLED’s but I just don’t want any possible risk of burn-in from gaming menu’s, channel banners/logo’s or HUD’s…

    For $1,500+ for a top-model set, I need it to last for at least 10yrs to justify the price. I’d be all-in on OLED if not for the burn-in risk, even if it’s not that high, it’s higher than I’m willing to risk.

    I love Cartoon Network, Comedy Central and older menu-based RPG’s, but not enough to have their static images retained in a pricey TV screen



  24. Martin Go on October 23, 2021 at 11:19 am

    I hate my LG TV and now I know why.. ABL especially when watching cartoons you can straight out see the color difference. I thought it was just me but then even my wife noticed it. It is the most annoying thing from OLED.



  25. Anja Rieger on October 23, 2021 at 11:19 am

    Hello
    Can you disable the tone mapping on the Qn95a, which makes the TV brighter but burn out details.



  26. Majin Dydy on October 23, 2021 at 11:19 am

    Excellent review, and then to know you guys are based in Montreal, my home, makes it even better!



  27. S Miles on October 23, 2021 at 11:21 am

    The QN9D from Costco has 4 hdmi 2.1 ports listed in the specs. Have you guys tested this model?



  28. Daniel Collier on October 23, 2021 at 11:24 am

    I’m looking at the 50" version. What differences are expected with it being an ips panel instead of a va. I would expect better viewing angles no?



  29. iz wa on October 23, 2021 at 11:25 am

    Great review. I’m going to buy this for PS5 gaming. Thanks



  30. Mr Bigsaf on October 23, 2021 at 11:27 am

    Hey, Guys what would you recommend I can’t decide between Q95t 55 or Qn90 50 inch thanks



  31. Miguel Maciel on October 23, 2021 at 11:33 am

    Sooo is it worth it? Lol thinking of getting 65”



  32. URSoulSurgeon on October 23, 2021 at 11:35 am

    Where can I buy a Q90a?



  33. Robert Olson on October 23, 2021 at 11:35 am

    sony is better. 🙁 they rest are all blue-ish and not black. Sony at least uses gray..



  34. Hew Michael on October 23, 2021 at 11:36 am

    The whole line up of Neo Qled is just trash. The motion blur is so so bad. Especially on 4k it’s almost unwatchable and the highlights are totally blown overwhelming bright which in the long run is gonna ruin your eyes



  35. Mary Black on October 23, 2021 at 11:39 am

    Not a fan have purchased the 50” 3 weeks ago the screen freezes and have to turn off pull out the wall plug and reboot also annoying pop ups onto screen requesting either wifi or cable when tv is connected to wifi hopefully Samsung repair guy can come to fix during lockdown



  36. Agustín Díaz on October 23, 2021 at 11:39 am

    No me gustó la manera en que analizó el blooming en el QN90A . Pues , lo hizo de costado y no de frente , Naturalmente , dicho efecto será peor en dicha posición . Por ello , me he quedado con la duda ( no creo que el blooming sea tan malo ) .



  37. MOHAN N on October 23, 2021 at 11:39 am

    Thank you very much, It helped me a lot to decide best tv and soundbar for my budget.



  38. Alan Dimery on October 23, 2021 at 11:40 am

    Great video . Thanks. Can you tell me the implications of no Dolby Vision please? Does this mean it wont play certain types of video/movies?



  39. James Ramirez on October 23, 2021 at 11:41 am

    I purchased this TV after seeing many a rave review (RTings, CNET, etc.) I will say for most content this TV performed as advertised. HDR movies from my Apple TV looked great, HOWEVER when watching sports I noticed during football games that the football would basically disappear when thrown horizontally across the screen. I began to play with every video setting I possibly could, and regardless the issue persisted. I can’t even imagine trying to watch hockey. If this was a budget TV I could live with the issue, but for an alleged top of the line option, this was unacceptable. I bought a budget 4K TV, and did not have the same issue.



  40. Can Su on October 23, 2021 at 11:42 am

    Hello rtings i saw ur Review and you said the qn90a could look a bit blurry cause of the wide angle Filter?is that Correct does it look unsharper than the a80j for example?



  41. Marcus Sylvester on October 23, 2021 at 11:43 am

    Very complete quality review which shows that this TV is worth its price.
    Great value when it will become on sale. ; – )



  42. A. Jain on October 23, 2021 at 11:44 am

    Qled vs oled ? Less strain on eyes ? What got better picture ?



  43. normskis69 on October 23, 2021 at 11:46 am

    Pro presentation. Fantastically useful website. Thank you



  44. Nostalgic memories on October 23, 2021 at 11:48 am

    what did he meant european models are diferent? is 55 inch worse or better than us/canada one?



  45. Samarjeet Singh on October 23, 2021 at 11:49 am

    I am confused between Samsung 85QN90A (selling with C$1300 discount) along with Q950A soundbar (~C$400 discount) OR Sony XR85X95J with HT-9A Home theater system (Coming soon). Use in priority – 1. Movies/Series, 2. Random Videos/Music, 3. PS/XBOX Games (Very Less). Please suggest which one to buy.



  46. Patrick K on October 23, 2021 at 11:50 am

    Don’t understand how Samsung has a Q90a soundbar that supports DTSX but not this tv



  47. Robert Olson on October 23, 2021 at 11:50 am

    they will be out dated next year. not even a year life span



  48. Joerg Kirschner on October 23, 2021 at 11:51 am

    Anyone knows the difference between Neo QLED QN91A / QN92A / QN93A / QN94A, especially concerning this "Geringe Lichtreflektionen und ein passender Blickwinkel dank QLC (außer 50")", Thanks! The QN94A is listed as “Ultra Viewing Angle with Anti-Reflective” and the QN90A with “Wide viewing Angle with Anti-Reflection”



  49. FantasyNero on October 23, 2021 at 11:51 am

    This is the Best Review, thank you so much and i hope you have a good Life! 👍🏻



  50. David Sapir on October 23, 2021 at 11:55 am

    I have the 65" QN90A, and this review is very accurate overall. It delivers such a bright, crisp and gorgeous picture, and gaming on this tv is drop dead awesome. It really is that good.