BMW X7 Audio Review: Is the £3,200 Bowers & Wilkins sound system worth it?

A massive thanks to Cotswold BMW who were generous enough to lend us the new BMW X7 while we reviewed the £3,200 Bowers & Wilkins Diamond Surround Sound system.

We spent a day in Calcot Manor in the Cotswolds so we had the perfect opportunity to drive it around some windy, sweeping Cotswolds roads with the audio system playing in its full glory.

We cover the spec of the sound system, how many speakers you get, listening modes and even give you a taste of what the audio sounds like.

Visit Cotswold BMW: https://www.cotswoldcheltenhambmw.co.uk

Find your local BMW dealership: https://www.bmw.co.uk/en/footer/contact/find-a-bmw-centre.html#

More details about the Bowers & Wilkins sound system: https://www.bowerswilkins.com/en-gb/car-audio/bmw

See more Bowers & Wilkins products here: https://www.smarthomesounds.co.uk/wireless-speakers/shop-brand/bowers-wilkins-formation

Visit our online shop: https://www.smarthomesounds.co.uk

Stay in touch with us @smarthomesounds on social media

38 Comments

  1. G.S. on June 6, 2021 at 7:16 am

    Bruh I listen to my R6 engine sound Not some crappy music



  2. Dimen on June 6, 2021 at 7:17 am

    Does the active design sound system sound better I assume through these speakers?



  3. Adrian Mortimer on June 6, 2021 at 7:17 am

    Nice review, however I would suggest that you also review Naim for Bentley if you are talking about the best in car audio system in the world



  4. Utku UYSAL on June 6, 2021 at 7:18 am

    4.4 v8?



  5. yeah ray on June 6, 2021 at 7:19 am

    Ok but my 2020 7 B&W speakers do not have the Fibonacci ambient lighting! Bummer!



  6. Brad on June 6, 2021 at 7:21 am

    Excellent review!



  7. Elvin Δημόκριτος on June 6, 2021 at 7:21 am

    I hawe a HARMAN KARDON on 525d F10 and its great. This Bowers&Wilkins will be wounderfull



  8. Eld3r ghost on June 6, 2021 at 7:22 am

    How many watts ?



  9. Matija on June 6, 2021 at 7:22 am

    Audi Bang&Olufsen 👌🏻😍 I love it!!!



  10. stubones on June 6, 2021 at 7:27 am

    FYI, it does not have a 5.0l V8. It’s a 4.4l v8. Maybe the 50i designation threw you off. Excellent review.



  11. Peter Milanovski on June 6, 2021 at 7:31 am

    All the car’s can do treble, where they struggle is at the bottom end. New car’s don’t have any subwoofers! What they call subwoofers is actually the bass driver that is part of a three way system which you will find that the door speakers are tied in with. Had they actually been subwoofers, you would have commented about the difficulty of being able to see what’s in the rearview mirrors! Which a subwoofer should have no trouble shaking the daylights out of. I love a system that has a really strong bottom end, my home B&W speakers don’t disappoint and my neighbours can confirm that! But I do have a proper subwoofer! I have always had a proper subwoofer in all my car’s but it’s starting to look like these new car’s won’t be able to be upgraded, if you replace the under seat woofers for proper subwoofers then it would be like removing your midbass drivers in your home system, it’s going to sound terrible!
    There’s not much different between car hifi and home hifi, everyone is going with rubbish class D amplifiers and quoting over inflated output power figures! If that system really had 1000W plus output power, you should have ended up with a different hair style after turning up the volume! 1000W would put hair on your chest! Regardless of sex!
    You really need to talk about what you are feeling! If the music isn’t physically moving you then I’m not interested in paying that much extra! I’m better off getting an aftermarket subwoofer (a real subwoofer with a proper class A/B amplifier) installed that will add more impact to my music at a much lower cost.
    The rest of this surround sound rubbish is useless, all our music is in two channel.



  12. Kyron on June 6, 2021 at 7:31 am

    You were playing Tom Misch, now I know you’re legit. Lol, on another note, I love how they created a spotify playlist to what the system can do. "Royals" by Lorde sounds amazing through my Harmon Kardon stereo in my car. I could only imagine how great it sounds in that X7.



  13. gamingbtc on June 6, 2021 at 7:32 am

    So if no Android auto, what do more than half of the world’s cell phone users use to play their music? Is there an aux jack or something? lmao.



  14. Paul Neale on June 6, 2021 at 7:32 am

    BMW’s mobile tech strategy is a complete mess at the moment. No Android Auto is bonkers! You didn’t really talk about how the system performs on the go, when traversing the local pothole-riddled roads, or cruising down a dual carriageway over the incessant hum of tyre noise, or on a busy motorway with massive wagons rattling away. (It’s not often I’d be listening in a parked car.) Could you include some of that next time please?



  15. A Stick & 3 Pedals on June 6, 2021 at 7:34 am

    4.4 liter engine not 5



  16. Richard Sutherland on June 6, 2021 at 7:35 am

    I’ve got the Bowers and Wilkins system in my Volvo XC60 Inscription and it is absolutely incredible. Wonder if it essentially the same system? In the Volvo it does support Android Auto as well…



  17. aapka apna on June 6, 2021 at 7:35 am

    U can’t check the sound quality by using radio tracks..



  18. JUAN ROCA WITTE on June 6, 2021 at 7:36 am

    You have no idea at all about how to review an audio system. You are clearly not an audiophile.
    Bass extension, bass grip speed, instrument separation, bass, mids and treble balance, warmth, brightness, microdynamics, macrodynamics, soundstage, image, timing, headroom…
    Unfortunately it seems there are no audiophiles yet interested on reviewing car audio systems.



  19. 태양광 • 9년 전 on June 6, 2021 at 7:37 am

    존나사고싶다 씨벌



  20. Shawn Pierson on June 6, 2021 at 7:38 am

    Nice review. Love it.



  21. Werner Trügler on June 6, 2021 at 7:40 am

    sorry to say, but neither is the BMW X7 an ultimate driving machine, nor does the test tell much about the quality of the sound system. you explain in detail many many technical facts and marketing statements but playing some tracks does not help in any way because we do not hear the B&W system but our headphones, computer speakers or whatever we use to watch this video.



  22. the. Gymboy on June 6, 2021 at 7:42 am

    You should compare it to the Volvo B&W setup…



  23. Robin Banks on June 6, 2021 at 7:43 am

    Can you review the Naim system in the Bentley GT



  24. Gerhard Sailer on June 6, 2021 at 7:43 am

    Thank´s 🙏



  25. Павел on June 6, 2021 at 7:45 am

    Крутой автомобиль но увы недостижимый !!!



  26. François Parent on June 6, 2021 at 7:49 am

    It’s not a 5.0L it’s 4.4L biturbo



  27. Daniel on June 6, 2021 at 7:54 am

    Range Rover 1,700w meridian would be good to review



  28. xXFeralArtsXx on June 6, 2021 at 7:55 am

    What is he talking about? IF you spend 100k pounds on a car at least, do you seriously think 3k more for a premium sound system will be a question of DO WE WANT IT?



  29. Muhammad Fahmi on June 6, 2021 at 7:55 am

    really good surrounding sound and the bass it taste so good well done BMW



  30. ufhero on June 6, 2021 at 7:58 am

    No one needs more than 200W in a car if the amps are efficient.



  31. TheMystro1971 on June 6, 2021 at 8:01 am

    I have tested most all the genuine serious high end audio systems in the top luxury market. It is true the Bower & Wilkins Diamond n the new BMW X7 is THE best money can buy. Spacial separation combined with BMW’s ultra quiet acoustic glass puts this system in its own league. Amazing considering how big the cabin is to fill with sound.



  32. drifty Boiii_458 on June 6, 2021 at 8:02 am

    Is it better than burmester sound system from a S CLASS



  33. p4oen1x on June 6, 2021 at 8:09 am

    I own a bmw x7. And im a bmw fan for last 15 years. 9:13 its a worse quality leather ever ! It piss me so much(



  34. Ervlax Steelcool on June 6, 2021 at 8:11 am

    audi 3d bang olufsen is better and has more wattage 1920w.



  35. Madikgetla Kagiso on June 6, 2021 at 8:11 am

    Audis bang and olufsen is the best



  36. Callum Mcpherson on June 6, 2021 at 8:11 am

    Can you turn the blue lights off?



  37. Bootleg Bay on June 6, 2021 at 8:13 am

    1475 watt lol, totally fake.



  38. Shehryar on June 6, 2021 at 8:15 am

    Such a detailed review. Loved it. I’d like to see you try out other car systems like Bentley’s Naim, Rolls Royce’s system, and Mercedes’ Burmester.