2020 Volkswagen Jetta GLI – Beats 9-speaker Sound-system Review

VW’s hot sedan, the Jetta GLI, features the 9-speaker BeatsAudio sound system on the Autobahn trim. Is it worth the extra cash? Compared to the base Jetta system, absolutely.

Real-world highway fuel-economy test coming soon!
Full review also coming soon!

Please hit that subscribe button if you enjoy! If you have any questions on the car or any cars you’d like to see, let us know in the comments.

Check out our website for written reviews and content: thedailymotor.com

This video was filmed with in-ear, binaural microphones, so if you listen with headphones, it will sound like you’re sitting in the driver’s seat!

WAV uncompressed audio tracks used:
ChillShop and Redlips by Deoxys Beats | https://soundcloud.com/deoxysbeats1
Homeworld Collapse by Arthur Vyncke | https://soundcloud.com/arthurvost
Aimless Lyrics and Illuminate by Punch Deck | https://soundcloud.com/punch-deck
The Travelling Symphony by Savfk | https://www.youtube.com/savfkmusic
Twenty Ninteen Americana Instrumental by Wayne John Bradley | https://soundcloud.com/ayneohnradley

Music promoted by https://www.free-stock-music.com
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/deed.en_US

#VWJettaGLI #SoundSystem #BeatsAudio

19 Comments

  1. Loopchimp NCS on March 28, 2021 at 12:28 am

    Hard af 💯You’ve got my support 💯 on the rise up… if you’ve got a few secs to drop a comment on my latest video I would appreciate it man Stay Creative ♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨♨

  2. Jon Hallstein on March 28, 2021 at 12:28 am

    I have a 2021 Jetta GLI Autobahn on order (6MT); your videos have been very helpful. Thank you.

  3. harold on March 28, 2021 at 12:36 am

    this puts a serious dent in justifying getting the autobahn package being that an audio $-update-$ will be required immediately after purchase. grrr… @The Healer’s comment below is very much worth a read before we all go mad switching out our gear before addressing the underlying source of the ‘issue’… a FOUR THOUSAND $ diff between S and autobahn to include a worthless sound system ‘upgrade’.

  4. Alan on March 28, 2021 at 12:38 am

    Bought a new GLI Autobahn 2 weeks ago, The Beats stereo is horrible compared to my last cars with the "premium" stereo (2011 BMW 328I [Harmon Kardon], 2012 Fiat 500 Abarth [Bose], 2017 Camaro 2SS [Bose] and 2017 Audi A4 [Bang and Olusfen])… The stereo should very much not be a selling a point to this car and should be looked at as point against the car if you care at all about bass and sound clarity. I’m likely going to have to rip everything out and upgrade them with aftermarket parts just to get it on par with my last cars.

  5. the teflon Don on March 28, 2021 at 12:40 am

    Good job

  6. Raquel Javier on March 28, 2021 at 12:47 am

    I just bought the 2020 jetta gli autobahn with the Beats radio and I am honestly not impressed. Perhaps I am doing something wrong…or maybe there is an issue with mine…but I have issues with my audio. If i connect the music via bluetooth, the sound is better; not great, but better. If i then connect ApplePlay, you can hear a huge difference in the quality of the audio. It sounds tinnier and less volume and bass. I don’t know why the change. I also sometimes have to unplug the phone and replug it in and half the time it will freeze, telling me to plug it in, or it will say i’m already plugged in, even though it’s not. Any insight on this? There are minimal audio settings, so i’m not sure if there’s something i’m doing wrong. Thanks for the help!

  7. AlexBeiro06 on March 28, 2021 at 12:54 am

    Amazing video !!! congratulations!

  8. Aymane HATAFI on March 28, 2021 at 12:57 am

    Is there any chance that you can test the KIA Sorento and the KIA Sportage ?
    Thanks in advance

  9. joseph zeoli on March 28, 2021 at 12:58 am

    Love the videos, can you do some Audi sound systems? Like the bang and olufson systems?

  10. Lucas Kowcz on March 28, 2021 at 1:00 am

    For sure not as good as the Fender and Dynaudio systems VW uses. I wonder how you’d compare this to the Fender system in a GTI? I currently drive a 2019 Tiguan with the Fender system. It’s very fine would be a good way to put it, but the bass that comes from the woofers rattles the doors too much and it’s muddy. I end up turning the bass down almost all the way, and turn the subwoofer all the way up. Unfortunately the way the system is designed through the crossovers in the audio system, the subwoofer relies too much on the woofers.

  11. Alston Hayes on March 28, 2021 at 1:07 am

    Whats that Playlist? Haha

  12. Kuya Arbee on March 28, 2021 at 1:08 am

    Subbed! Been watching your content and the reviews on the car and the audio systems!

  13. José Valdez on March 28, 2021 at 1:09 am

    Man, listen to his 2020 GTI Fender system test. This Beats system is absolute shiet for “premium” in comparison

  14. Beyond The Test Drive on March 28, 2021 at 1:10 am

    We have a GLI with this system and also had a 2019 Jetta SEL Premium with this same exact system. Interestingly, we are quite satisfied with the GLI system but never liked the SEL premium one. I am suspicious that VW is mixing and matching speakers from various suppliers and quality varies. The GLI Beats is definitely not super high end and should be the stock system. If it was stock we all would be impressed but when you market it as an upgrade, then it needs to be better. But overall we enjoy it and have no real complaints.

  15. M Hamza on March 28, 2021 at 1:13 am

    doesnt sound tht good

  16. Jason shadow on March 28, 2021 at 1:14 am

    Always volkswagen bang.bang. super speed. Car. The new awesome bro. Its very loud & like it how was her bass & trebal. How much her sound volume.🔥🤟🤝🏁🇧🇪🇩🇪☯️🔉🔊🎵🎚

  17. The Healer on March 28, 2021 at 1:20 am

    I acquired five years ago a Touareg Sportline which I modified with a Katzkin REAL leather interior upgrade in autumn / walnut, which ended up as a sort of a saddle colour, to cover the black vinyl which was stock. The improvement in the quality overall of the interior from that one modification resulting in enhanced beauty and refinement from the soft, high-end leather Katzkin uses, installed by a very experienced and skilled expert at his craft, is stunning and upgraded the quality virtually to a Bentley level! It was absolutely worth the eight large to do it.

    The second mod I made was to address the base audio system which came with the vehicle. Fortunately, it had a beautifully functioning 6-disc CD changer / player which works flawlessly and also accepts and plays files via BT and 3.5 mm auxiliary connecting cord. The base system sounded marginal, not abysmal but not able to reproduce the quality of music I desired so I was fortunate enough to come across a brilliant sound engineer in a local aftermarket shop and let him have a look at the system.

    He explained the first thing to address was the amplifier as the system was starved for power despite extravagant claims by VW as to its wattage adequacy, a common distortion in the automotive industry and not unique certainly to VW. Next, the DSP (digital signal processor) had to be dealt with because the stock VW part was not suitable to produce adequate musicality or sound staging. He therefore modified the existing system with a neutral Audison BIT 2.1 amp and DSP combination which he fine-tuned / adjusted using a laptop connected to the receiver via a USB cord. After an hour or so of modifying the sound curves (adjusting and regulating), and with the Bass, Midrange and Treble all flat, I had the best-sounding audio system I have ever heard in a motor vehicle regardless of the price. The total cost including labor and parts for the audio system modification, incidentally, was under $2,000.00, a fraction of what I had expected to pay.

    He explained the speakers did NOT need changing as VW speakers, at least the stock ones in the Touareg in 2015, were of good quality. He further explained that less forthright shops, shall I say, (prior to finding this gem of an automotive audio engineer in my own backyard and upon searching the Pacific Northwest in general I stumbled across a self-described "sound wizard" who, on his shop’s website, subscribed to the general ‘error’ on the part of audio-challenged vehicle buyers that replacement of the stock speakers with very expensive FOCALS or equivalent is / was the INITIAL approach to the cure for what ails them).

    Nothing, in fact, according to the audio engineer of high integrity could be farther from the truth. He explained that usually the speaker was the last part that needed replacement or adjusting, assuming they were of good quality to begin with, and the bright, clear, crisp, refined and altogether reinvigorated sound that now was coming out of my speakers was the "hearing is believing" truth and graphic evidence of the accuracy of what I had been told. Another point that was very obvious and notable was the incredible sound stage which now had been created. You could hear various instruments in various specific areas as assessed by both width from left to right and by depth from front to back. Absolutely first rate and so realistic. Musical details which I had not heard before save on my very good home system were now apparent. And because the Touareg is intrinsically a quiet vehicle at highway speeds anyway, the detail was not lost at highway speeds.

    Further, I was informed the speakers could be changed to a higher level sound quality but the minimal additional improvement which he felt would result or could be anticipated for what would then be a multi-thouand dollar modification would not justify the huge additional financial and time outlay which would then be required. Hence, I stopped there and have been delighted with the sound in my Touareg’s audio system ever since.

    One final point about automotive audio which I already knew but which that competent and honest audio engineer made and re-emphasized that is critical to the success of any sound system is this: regardless of the quality of the hardware, the digital signal processing, the software algorithms, the amplifier, receiver or pre-amp, all will be for nought if the music file being fed to the system is/was of low quality or corrupt. A high quality hardware component, etc. would only then make bad files sound really bad! No, what must happen to make the experience of sound reproduction really high-end is that the system must be provided high-end, lossless, files, not low-end mp3 or mp4 files or the usual fare of a cell phone audio, small .wma files, that sort of thing.

    My personal favorite is the .wav file which is an entirely lossless file. Ideally, an average .wav file is about 40 MB so that a 1TB flash drive would contain 25,000 40 MB .wav files. The audio system must be able to read .wav files and rapidly initialize and catalogue them so the audio system is not only able to play music that sounds good but able to do it expeditiously.

    Not every audio system is able to read .wav files and surprisingly, a substantial number of higher quality systems in higher end vehicles cannot. This renders their "audiophile" systems for which they charge a pretty penny useless or at best, average or mundane. The salesmen rarely know if their products can read high quality files and more often than not attempt to steer the conversation away from this subject altogether and towards an unrelated subject such as the wattage of the system or whether it plays rubbish from SiriusXM which by the laws of audiophysics CANNOT play music that sounds good as a consequence of overloaded bandwidth.

    But anyway, unless the extra bucks to acquire a truly excellent-sounding stock system does in fact result in excellence, buy the base system and take it to an honest aftermarket shop to have the junk removed and quality sound equipment installed. If you really like your tunes and your ride has a properly quieted cabin at highway speeds, spring for the better sound system. You will be glad you did!

  18. Andrew Chen on March 28, 2021 at 1:20 am

    If you owned the car what changes to the EQ settings would you make personally? Thanks!

  19. John Miguel Onia on March 28, 2021 at 1:21 am

    Oh wow its not bad

Leave a Comment