2020 BMW M340i – Harman Kardon Sound System Review

The 2020 BMW M340i (G20) isn’t just a pretty face and beastly engine. For a few thousand dollars, you can get a 16-speaker Harman Kardon sound system. Does it stack up to its luxury rivals? Find out here!

Full review here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-nRcmsD1mI

Love the content? Support us and send us a message by donating on Cash App! $dailymotor
Don’t have Cash App? Sign up with this link to get $5 free and $10 for us! https://cash.app/app/HPCXLBM

Please like and subscribe to help us hit that 1000 mark! If there are any cars you’d like to see us review, let us know in the comments.

Check out our website for written reviews and content: thedailymotor.com

This video was filmed with in-ear, binaural microphones, so if you listen with headphones, it will sound like you’re sitting in the driver’s seat!

WAV uncompressed audio tracks used:
Homeworld Collapse by Arthur Vyncke | https://soundcloud.com/arthurvost
Aimless Lyrics and Illuminate by Punch Deck | https://soundcloud.com/punch-deck
The Travelling Symphony by Savfk | https://www.youtube.com/savfkmusic
Twenty Ninteen Americana Instrumental by Wayne John Bradley | https://soundcloud.com/ayneohnradley

Music promoted by https://www.free-stock-music.com
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/deed.en_US

#BMWM340i #SoundSystem #HarmanKardon

50 Comments

  1. David Davidovic on May 6, 2021 at 4:38 am

    It is R6 not V6😉



  2. pvdm on May 6, 2021 at 4:39 am

    17:46 you say its a V6! its an inline 6 my guy



  3. Ahtisham jutt on May 6, 2021 at 4:40 am

    the car does not have a V6 bro. It has a 6 inline.



  4. George Mocan on May 6, 2021 at 4:42 am

    Will you be testing out the the Bowers & Wilkins Diamond Surround Sound system in the X7 ? I think you’ve already tested one in another car. What did you think?



  5. Zagan Iulian on May 6, 2021 at 4:44 am

    Hi ..I want give you a advice ..the music you play isn’t good for harman kardon sound test .trust me … Play this sound jador X lino golden – dau Moda official video



  6. FGC_rest on May 6, 2021 at 4:45 am

    Hk or BO? What is best?



  7. Bobby Hidayat on May 6, 2021 at 4:46 am

    Nice review mate! What’s your opinion when comparing the G20’s HK system compared to other car audio systems such as Audi’s B&O, MB’s Burmeister and the Tesla M3 upgraded audios?



  8. Scott Peters on May 6, 2021 at 4:46 am

    Have you reviewed the 2021 Z4 harmon kardon system?



  9. Herr Lich on May 6, 2021 at 4:47 am

    The System is great, but you have to use the eq!



  10. K J on May 6, 2021 at 4:48 am

    Good video! Sounds great. The song itself has too much compression that causes the snare to drop everything else around it for moment of what sounds like attenuation. A better test, if it was possible to do it without getting demonetized, would be a more dynamic jazz song by Pat Metheny where high quality instrumentation can show off the “dust” during the moments of silence. Thanks for putting in such a great effort to share your experience. HK is an excellent sound system to say the least!



  11. Claire M on May 6, 2021 at 4:48 am

    Nice review! What to do if my iPod does not shuffle the songs but keeps playing the same song repeatedly, even if set under "Titles". The shuffle icon is checked on both the actual system and the iPod. Any suggestions about how to correct this? Thank you.



  12. stevealexR1 on May 6, 2021 at 4:49 am

    The H-K Surround Sound in my Tanzanite Blue 2020 (U.K. spec) M340i is nowhere near as good as the H-K system I had in my previous 2018 440i Coupe. It sounds more hollow and boomy whilst also being less powerful.



  13. James Clemones on May 6, 2021 at 4:49 am

    Having driven one of these I can confirm the HK sound system has a high bias, not great in the mids and good in the sub/bass. It’s easy to overdo bass, this system has two 8-inch sub drivers (under front seats) which I think were reasonably well EQ’ed in. The mids were lacking, which you can hear in this video – try listening out for the vocals in one of the demo tracks.



  14. R A on May 6, 2021 at 4:56 am

    About time they did this … practically all of my previous cars I have ended up installing an aftermarket head unit just for similar capabilities and sound. Used to love my Alpine headunits.



  15. Mix Mally on May 6, 2021 at 4:56 am

    Do a review of the VW Golf 8 Harmon kardon. There is no video of this on YouTube



  16. Daniel Caschetto on May 6, 2021 at 4:57 am

    Can i have all songs list of the video?



  17. Martin Moeri on May 6, 2021 at 5:00 am

    It is the same as in the F30 / F31 series.It is real good for average music listeners. However there is always room for improvement. It is absolutley woth the money and gives you the chance for improvement as you have all the slots wirings and spaces.



  18. Herr Lich on May 6, 2021 at 5:00 am

    I love the sytem, you have to know how to handle with the equalizer. 8/10



  19. Soothing Melodies Compilation on May 6, 2021 at 5:03 am

    awesome speakers……..



  20. Daily Motor on May 6, 2021 at 5:04 am

    Love the Harman Kardon coverage? Support us and send us a message by donating on Cash App! $dailymotor
    Don’t have Cash App? Sign up with this link to get $5 free and $10 for us! https://cash.app/app/HPCXLBM



  21. Arthur Gusmão on May 6, 2021 at 5:04 am

    Make more videos 🙂 (sound test bmw)



  22. Cebo Biyela on May 6, 2021 at 5:04 am

    Play some hip-hop too please.



  23. FGC_rest on May 6, 2021 at 5:05 am

    Hk or BO? What is best?



  24. Scotty Svensson on May 6, 2021 at 5:05 am

    What is wrong w/ BMW engineers 3er HK and 7er B&W isn’t good enough like S60 HK or S90 B&W Volvo has much much better sound quality 🤨 I really don’t understand why!



  25. Daniel T on May 6, 2021 at 5:06 am

    🖕🖕🖕🖕🖕



  26. Mark Aspinall-Paul on May 6, 2021 at 5:06 am

    Hey Charlie, thanks for the great review, nicely done and i really appreciated the different tracks you played, they really highlight the good qualities and the bad. We’ve just traded up to the new 3 series from the 2015, both with the HK upgrade. On the old car, the bass speakers under the front seat were way better (prominent) – we’re struggling to get this new system setup as well as the old one too. Would you recommend changing out the bass speakers in the new car to get that real bass boost?



  27. drifty Boiii_458 on May 6, 2021 at 5:06 am

    My brother is 19 and he has a bmw 330i 2018 with standard speakers it sounds OK I give it a 6.4/10 and my mom has a BMW X6 50i with Harman Kardon speaker and there is quite a big difference between bass on both



  28. hmc2s on May 6, 2021 at 5:10 am

    For some reason BMW’s have never been known to any kind of decent bass in their sound systems.



  29. Thomas B on May 6, 2021 at 5:12 am

    I am a bit curious, you have tested the harman kardon soundsystem in the 840i and there it got a better score from you. According to the bmw website they are both the same systems (464 Watts, 16 spekaers etc.).

    I got a BMW G21 (3 Series Touring) recently with the harman kardon soundsystem and compared to my old E91 LCI 3 Series, also with Harman Kardon soundsystem, its not that good anymore. So i am bit dissapointed with the system, just like you were. Its exactly like you said, no bass(-guitar), no low ends…even if you get to high volume, the sound just feels a little bit "empty".



  30. Mix Mally on May 6, 2021 at 5:13 am

    Do a test on be golf 8 Harmon kardon



  31. S. M. on May 6, 2021 at 5:13 am

    I like this better than the Burmester in my Mercedes C300. Is what I missed when I gave up my 2009 335i



  32. Duke Luke on May 6, 2021 at 5:15 am

    my brother buyed yesterday the new bmw 3 model with mpacked, the harman sound system is a fking monster. We listened to hip hop, edm, Pop and generally music with bass, the quality is on an other level… Sry for my grammatics im from switzerland



  33. w210source on May 6, 2021 at 5:16 am

    I own an M4 with the Harman system, and the Surround setting absolutely sucks. Why anyone would prefer that is beyond me!



  34. Soarin8 on May 6, 2021 at 5:16 am

    What is the best eq settings for this HK system?



  35. Onen One on May 6, 2021 at 5:18 am

    Holy shit, that is one hell of a sound system, thanks a lot of this lovely review



  36. Hamza Alghazawi on May 6, 2021 at 5:18 am

    What do you think is the greatest audio system in your opinion? I wanna buy a car with the best stereo



  37. Steve on May 6, 2021 at 5:19 am

    So if you would adjust the settings accordingly (low end), would it be comparable to the B&W systems in Volvo cars? So in other words, is it possible to fix the lack of low end through the settings?



  38. Maarten Boelens on May 6, 2021 at 5:20 am

    Interesting, but please do not use this (gopro?) head mounted camera for outside views of the car: the barrel distortion is pretty much unbearable.



  39. Duranamo on May 6, 2021 at 5:20 am

    Nice to see they’ve included an actual equalizer, which seems to be absent in almost every other modern car.



  40. Pacific 32 on May 6, 2021 at 5:24 am

    I’ve been looking for reviews like this. Car audio is pretty important to me, Good job !



  41. S. M. on May 6, 2021 at 5:24 am

    Question , where is the USB port to connect your phone .Also what does BMW charge for Apple CarPlay after the subscription ends ?



  42. ARMAfuckenGEDDON on May 6, 2021 at 5:26 am

    I’ve made a decision to purchase this car, so comparison to other cars don’t really interest me that much, unlike the comparison of the base bmw g20 audio with this h/k system. Is the upgrade worth the $2k sticker price, in your opinion?



  43. Max Rockatansky on May 6, 2021 at 5:27 am

    Could someone copmare it with the Harman Kardon system from Alfa Romeo Giulia? In Giulia it have a subwoofer under the seat.



  44. GoldenChild on May 6, 2021 at 5:28 am

    Many thanks :)! Greetz from Germany!



  45. Michael Mannie on May 6, 2021 at 5:28 am

    Been looking everywhere for a demo of the 3 series Harman Kardon! Thanks so much! The only other one I could find was the X3 by carsWithOtto, check that out to bro! Great vid!!



  46. Igor Igor on May 6, 2021 at 5:31 am

    Sound 👎👎



  47. Don M on May 6, 2021 at 5:33 am

    I want this car but need to pound my D’n’B. Can I stick my amp and dual 12" subs in the back without replacing the head unit? Or should I just say screw it and gut the whole system? Also, I have Android devices only which may make a difference.



  48. Jonas Larsson on May 6, 2021 at 5:37 am

    Systems sounds really bad. Like iPhone on the toilet bad.



  49. Sin Töten on May 6, 2021 at 5:37 am

    Greeting from the weed Nun. I have two options, a keep SRT or a 2021 m550i. I went to a dealership in Manhattan the other day and decided to hear the bowers and Wilkins… and it’s insane it’s almost as if you’re in a theatre you hear everything.



  50. Big Red Machine on May 6, 2021 at 5:37 am

    next videos shut up pls we are listening harman kardon